Skip to content

Food Rules, Rule Number Nine

March 2, 2010

photo by Beverly Lussier

Candy that looks like this is almost ALWAYS “non-fat.” I can eat this stuff until it comes out of my ears. I’ve read in various diets that the reason for that is that there is no fat to trigger your receptors that then tell you that you’re getting full, so it’s like it flies under the radar of your fullness perception.

We drink “low-fat” milk at home, but I don’t think that’s as bad as the low-fat bread we stopped eating.

In the United States in 2010, someone is always trying to sell you something. These handy labels make it like…forgive me…taking candy from a baby. I think there are two important steps to this process: first, we have to be more vigilant. Second, we have to make clear choices about where we spend our “lite” dollars. Consider, since I’ve been on a sweets theme: non-fat frozen yogurt, or real ice cream? There’s no comparison, in my opinion, in terms of texture and flavor, so I’d rather measure out a half cup of the real thing than overdose on the plethora of calories that are still in the non-fat versions.

Good luck with this one. We’ve been in low and non-fat modes for so long, this can be a hard mind-set to break.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Darrell Oakley permalink

    I gave up on low fat this and that years ago. I’ll take my fat fully loaded thank you very much. The additional processing strips the beneficial nutrients and vitamins out of the original whole food.

Leave a Reply

