Skip to content

Vote Twice

November 6, 2012

“And can any of you by worrying add a single hour to your span of life? If then you are not able to do so small a thing as that, why do you worry about the rest?” –Luke 12:25-26 (NRSV)

Folks, I will keep this short. Just back from an anniversary trip to Iceland, and WOW was it ever amazing. I will try to put a post together that reflects both images and feelings from this amazing interaction with creation. I recommend the country to you without reservation, and will even include some wise pointers that friends gave us to make things more interesting and convenient.

One thing I will note for today, though; we made no provisions for ourselves to be able to carry our iPhones with us. Or rather, we did not buy any additional international roaming plans, so we had no network unless we were in our hotel room and used wifi. It was a great choice. A little scary, at times, since we didn't rent a GPS either and had a car that we used with…wait for it…PAPER MAPS! The horror! It was actually something to pick up a car from a rental place and be handed the map and given “directions” to get to Reykjavik, with the understanding that if we failed my to follow those directions, reading signs only in Icelandic, that we would still be circling the airport right now. My lovely wife (and chief navigator) gets all the credit for our success). Of course, if we had broken down on the road, we would have had to flag someone else down. We ARE spoiled these days, with ubiquitous communication devices always in our pockets (unless we forget to charge them). On the other hand, we found ourselves focusing on one another a lot more, and really connecting with the amazing geology and massive waterfalls and the air and everything else. On a level, not having those devices made the trip better than it ever could have been with them.

We arrived home in time to vote today. It's a privilege I do not take lightly. We have both voted already at the time of this writing, and the Franklin High School polling station is a remarkably efficient and full of really nice, helpful people. They make you feel like you matter, that your votes counts, all of the stuff that voting is supposed to be about.

As soon as I was done voting, I went to the parking lot, sat in my car, and made another vote. I voted for my sanity. I deleted the Facebook app from my phone, as well as my news apps. I have not turned on the television since I voted. I will not do so until well into tonight. I cannot change the outcome. There's nothing I can do about what's unfolding. I can only add to my worry, not to my life. I hope you are doing the same. Obviously you're doing it now, if you're reading this blog on November 6th. But I urge you to follow up your vote for candidates with another important vote: the vote for sanity, the vote for more peace of mind, the vote to look out and see this beautiful orange sunset and appreciate the cool air and the faces of people you love and all the rest of it. Whatever the results of this election are, we will still be the United States of America when it's over, and I'll keep blogging, and you'll keep doing what you're doing, and we'll still be seeking the face of Christ in others and seeking ways to support them. I wish you peace and grace, whether you “win” or “lose.”

Hey, you're reading this blog. You're already a winner! 😛

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

